the artist

You want to book a date with  Earthless

    Main picture of the page of the artist Earthless
    Main picture of the page of the artist Earthless
    All the artists


    • Musical style
    • Psyché
    • Rock
    • Beginnings
    • 2001
    • Nationality
    • United states
    • Mobility
    • International
    • Agent
    • Adrien Kremer
      France / Benelux
    • Type
    • Band


    Earthless is a mostly instrumental psychedelic rock band from San Diego, California, consisting of guitarist Isaiah Mitchell, bassist Mike Eginton and drummer Mario Rubalcaba.

    The band formed in 2001 and released their first album, Sonic Prayer, through Gravity Records in 2005. Their second album, Rhythms from a Cosmic Sky, was released in 2007 through Tee Pee Records.

    Mitchell sings occasionally, but the band’s music is mostly instrumental and features long semi-improvised songs drawing on classic rock, psychedelic rock, jazz and krautrock.

    Although often classified as a stoner rock band, Earthless consider themselves most strongly influenced by krautrock and psychedelic bands from Japan. Eginton has identified such Japanese groups as Blues Creation, Flower Travellin’ Band, High Rise and White Heaven as being inspirational for Earthless, and for krautrock, Rubalcaba has named Guru Guru and Amon Düül II. Classic rock has also influenced the group, as they also share an interest in Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath. Eginton has also said the earlier work of Miles Davis has impacted the band, along with other modal jazz players, as the band often choose a key or mode and almost never play outside it even regardless of what the guitar solo becomes.




    Music videos & lives